About Us

Des Voeux Chambers, also widely known as “DVC”, was founded in 1984 by an amalgamation of prominent former members of the Attorney General’s Chambers and former law lecturers who had taught at the University of Hong Kong. It was first headed by Neil Kaplan, Q.C., who was appointed a High Court Judge in 1990 and went on to head the Construction & Arbitration List of the High Court until his retirement from the Bench. He was succeeded by John Griffiths, S.C. (formerly Attorney-General of Hong Kong from 1979 to 1983), who was in turn followed by Daniel Fung S.C. (formerly Solicitor-General of Hong Kong 1994 to 1998).

Today, Des Voeux Chambers is headed by John Scott, S.C. and is home to 70 astute legal minds, many of whom have appeared at the helm of numerous groundbreaking cases. 17 members have been called to the Inner Bar and appointed Senior Counsel in Hong Kong and/or Queen's Counsel in England. Several members are qualified in other jurisdictions such as England, the People's Republic of China(Mainland), the United States, Australia, Singapore and the British Virgin Islands. Des Voeux Chambers is consistently rated by Chambers & Partners as a Leading Set of Chambers in Band 1, and has been awarded "Chambers of the Year" 6 times by Asian Legal Business.

Chambers has a distinguished record of public service. Members have sat as Recorders, or as Deputy Judges, and/or have been appointed to important public bodies such as the Basic Law Committee.

Former distinguished members include The Honourable Mr. Justice Kaplan (in charge of the Construction & Arbitration List) (retired), The Honourable Mr. Justice Stone (in charge of the Commercial Court) (retired), The Honourable Mrs. Justice Barnes and The Honourable Mr. Justice Harris, the current Companies Judge.